Sign In
Share Share Print Print E-mail E-mail
September 25, 2015
Dear Members of the St. Christopher’s Community,
We are delighted to announce that the Board of Governors of St. Christopher’s School and the Trustees of the Church Schools in the Diocese of Virginia have unanimously and enthusiastically appointed Mason Lecky the seventh Headmaster of St. Christopher’s School, effective July 1, 2016. It is an honor and a privilege to welcome Mason and his wife Megan to the St. Christopher’s community.
Throughout the search process, we have benefited from the advice of our alumni, faculty and parents that our next Headmaster must embrace our traditions of honor, integrity and academic excellence while inspiring and promoting the innovative attributes of our Second Century Vision. Our Search Committee has spent countless hours over the summer working in pursuit of this goal. Not surprisingly, our search – which was national and exhaustive - brought forth a pool of remarkably talented and experienced candidates.
Mason’s incredibly strong fit with our culture and his critical competencies in scholarly values, inspirational presence and executive leadership distinguished him from the group. He will bring us a wealth of independent-school experience with significant success as a teacher, coach, mentor and leader. We are confident that under his leadership we will continue the trajectory of success and evolution contemplated by our Second Century Vision and do so while maintaining the core values of our wonderful school.
A native of Richmond, Mason attained his undergraduate degree at the University of Virginia and then earned his Master’s in Education at Harvard. In 2014, he was a Klingenstein Heads Fellow at Columbia University.  Mason spent his formative independent education years at St. Albans School, an excellent all-boys Episcopal school in Washington, DC, (Grades 4-12), as a teacher, coach, Director of Communications, Director of Admissions and Financial Aid, and as the chair of their accreditation process and their hosting of the International Boys’ Schools Coalition (IBSC) Conference in 2005.
After ten years at St. Albans, Mason was recruited to consider the headship of St. Andrew’s School, a wonderful Pre-K through Grade 8 Episcopal school in New Orleans that had been significantly impacted by Hurricane Katrina and the economic recession. He became the Head of School there in the summer of 2009. In very short order he stabilized the School’s finances, re-energized its faculty, expanded the School’s enrollment and curriculum, integrated and developed a new Middle School program and a new Early Childhood program, developed a successful advancement program, enhanced racial and socioeconomic diversity, and spearheaded an expanded athletic program. Mason’s success at St. Andrew’s has been recognized not only by the School’s Board and community, but also by his education peers through appointments to leadership positions and Board service for the Independent Schools Association of the Southwest, the Louisiana Association of Independent Schools, and the Southwestern Association of Episcopal Schools.
When Mason comes to St. Christopher’s, he will find a school that is nationally recognized, financially strong, with record enrollment and development support, thanks in large part to the steady and visionary leadership of Charley Stillwell and the commitment of our alumni, faculty and parents. We thank Charley for the extraordinary leadership he has provided and will continue to provide in the coming year. Most importantly, we thank you for the support, guidance and patience you have shown throughout this process.
Please join us in welcoming Mason, Megan and their three children, Patrick (8), Carter (6) and Mary (4), to the St. Christopher’s community.
Thurston R. Moore
Chair, Board of Governors
Edward O. Miller, Chair, CSDV
David H. Charlton, President, CSDV
Terrie H. Scheckelhoff, Head, St. Catherine’s School
Thurston Moore, Chair, Board of Governors, St. Christopher’s and current parent
Lee Chapman ’88, member, St. Christopher’s Board and current parent
Charlie Noell ’70, member, St. Christopher’s Board
Pam Royal, member, St. Christopher’s Board and current parent
Ned Valentine, member, St. Christopher’s Board and current parent
Karen Wise, member, St. Christopher’s Board and current parent
Charlie Luck ’79, former member, St. Christopher’s Board and former parent
Lewis Powell ’70, immediate past Chair, St. Christopher’s Board and current parent
Faculty Advisory Committee
Hill Brown, Middle School
Emmett Carlson, Upper School
Melissa Hollerith, Chaplain's Office
Kim Hudson, Center for the Study of Boys
Margaret Hunter, Lower School
Jim Jump, College Counseling Office
Durk Steed, Middle School*
Karen Wray, Second Century Vision Curriculum Coordination

*Durk Steed joined the FAC in August in replacement of a FAC member who had an immutable conflict during the candidate interview days.